top of page
  • samruff

Hello World! Processing Response


This video was very interesting and brought forth a lot of intriguing ideas in what looks to be a complicated yet beautiful way. One of the points it brought up that I previously wished would be touched on soon was the idea of sharing source code. From my past interactions with the coding community, I know that sharing your work and building on others is a huge part of this craft. The idea that it's being used for processing as well is wonderful to hear. Another thing I recognized, almost immediately, was the Daisy Bell singing computer as I've heard versions of that song in several indie AV horror videos on Youtube and Tiktok. I had absolutely no idea it was made via processing, and this has certainly made me open up my eyes a little at the possibilities this art holds.


The concepts concretely set in the beginning of the video particularly fascinated me. They kept going back to the idea of working with the computer as two co-authors instead of just using it as a tool. While, most of the time, the use of things is to force it to cater to your idea and vision, processing allows people to bounce ideas and perspectives off another, even if that other is a computer. I'm not sure if this completely fits these themes, as it's been a second since I watched this movie, but this video reminded me of Electric Dreams (1984) and the way it views the computer as more of an entity and brain that can process things instead of just an object to complete your tasks just as you previously envisioned.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Project 4 Process n Stuff

homepages.utoledo.edu/sruff3 My website is mostly sorted by type of art that I've done: fibers, poems, and anything with pigments (which...

Comments


bottom of page