top of page
  • samruff

Project 4 Process n Stuff


My website is mostly sorted by type of art that I've done: fibers, poems, and anything with pigments (which is really just a misc area). Sandwiching those pages are my home page and my identity page which includes my biography, artist statement, blog link, and resume. At the end of my menu are the other two projects for this class. The first one, referred to as "monster site" opens up a new tab to this new website (something also incorporated into my blog link and links to journals which have published my poetry). The second project,as I'm writing this, does not work. I feel like I've tried everything solution peers, authority figures, tutorials, and reddit has offered me. The furtherest progress I've made on that so far is the webpage says my p5 sketch is loading in the corner, above my menu.


The red menu was decidely best on the side of the page. I preferred being able to click away after scrolling for twenty minutes on a page as opposed to quickly scrolling all the way back up or even having it affixed to the top of the page. Many websites have so much unnecessary space on the sides of the sites and I thought it to be better looking to put the menu in the already-empty space as opposed to the one road I was using down the middle. When I made my tab take up only half my screen, the menu would sometimes go over the content of my page, so I made it slightly transparent to work around that issue.


On the pigments and fibers pages, I displayed my work in a vertical gallery which was two photos in width. This was done by placing all of the photos in one long green box. I thought this took up a sufficient amount of space and allowed me to position and order the photos in a way that they may interact with their neighboring photo's ideas if relevant. I used this concept by sometimes showing different views of the same hat or projects of the same sort in one row. On the poetry and identity pages, I displayed my work by putting each new idea in a new green box. For example, one poem per box, or biography in one box and artist statement in the next. I felt like this created a satisfying divide without being too distracting or segregrating. While these two sets of pages don't have the same layouts, since there are two of each type, they are cohesive by being matching pairs. Hopefully, the p5 sketch page will be set up similarly to the home page when it decides to work. The home page is a single image in the middle showing a picture of me, as that is the subject of the website. If you click on the image, it shows a captioned photo of my first poetry reading. I hope to add more photos of me-in-action as my artistic career progresses, so that is what I have right now.


NOTES FROM CRITIQUE:

  • the works being chronological is a nice touch, but how do people know that? Add captions or a timeline or something

  • Add captions. Stats of yarn, pattern, crochet or knitted, medias, titles, info in general

  • add my name (again) on home page

  • use of descriptors in menu is nice, but the p5 page title stands out. Maybe make it a title or "monster quest 2" or something. It does also have monsters. Maybe sort code as a material

  • the color palette is good, but some see christmas. Maybe push the green more earthy to be a more natural looking relationship with the red. Think rust and grass.

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page