top of page
  • samruff

"RiP: A remix manifesto" thoughts

In all honestly, I went into watching this with the kind of dread designated for any old school assignment, but not even five minutes in, I realized this was a very different situation. This was truly one of my favorite documentary-type movies I've ever watched. Every point made was extremely based and backed-up in ways I never would have imagined but make perfect sense now that they're pointed out.


I particularly resonated with the Disney section of the video, as the toxicity of the corporation is overwhelming and has been a big interest of mine. Disney's need to hide their zombie bites and their disgusting amount of greed is incredibly harmful to the idea of creativity. This video clued me into the Air Pirates Funnies and MLF (mouse liberation front) ordeal, which I find incredibly interesting and will be looking into more. At the end, it was mentioned that the man behind the two is making a movie relating to his lawsuit about all this, and I will be looking out for that.


The whole ideas behind this film have a "f the system" kind of mentality which I am all here for. Capitalism has ruined all sorts of creativity and enjoyment, and this compiles a bunch of examples of that. I'm extremely glad people are talking about it more openly more. I know plenty of people who are still terrified at the thought of pirating and thus becoming a criminal, and while that mindset isn't wrong in any way, shape, or form, I know I will not be paying four dollars for a single song.


I will definitely be recommending this movie to my friends, as many of them hold like-values to me. (I will be absolutely sure my film major friends see it though, as this really is art in itself). I hope the messages Gaylor is trying to spread get out more and people continue to realize the harm that these systems and corporations have done to the world of art, let alone the world as a whole.




4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Assignment #3

I started this project with the idea of making a track that makes the listener feel like they are running from something, whatever that...

Comentários


bottom of page