top of page
  • samruff

Assignment #3


I started this project with the idea of making a track that makes the listener feel like they are running from something, whatever that may be. Though, I got part-way through that and decided I didn't want my track to run anymore. I wanted it to feel stuck, overwhelmed, and very real. I tried not to distort any of my sounds too much in order for it to be easier to relate to and get immersed in. My biggest struggle was mimicking the sounds of traveling without being able to go anywhere, but I think I managed fairly well in the end. For my own sounds, I recorded myself walking, shuffling, etc. on my phone with whatever props I could find in my dorm room. Otherwise, the rest of the sounds came from various people on freesound.



List of sounds used: 1. door chime kia.flac by vacuumfan7072 https://freesound.org/s/609396/

2. platform heels walking by me 3. car door slam by theshaggyfreak

4. Lock car.wav by greatsoundstube

https://freesound.org/s/629303/ 5. Incessant Shuffling by me

6. Clearing Throat.wav by johnnypanic

https://freesound.org/s/377267/ 7. More Incessant Shuffling by me 8. Knock on Glass.aif by burkay

9. gasp.wav by drotzruhn

https://freesound.org/s/405203/ 10. FM radio tuning by Mr Auralization

11. music elevator by Jay_You

12. record scratch.wav by luffy

13. Male Heavy Breathing.wav by MihirFreeSound

14. Car Crash (with Glass) by magnuswaker

15. dog barking by nielstii

16. Baby Crying Slowly PE144001 by gumballworld


Class thoughts:

  • murder vibes

  • a lot of movement and progression in the beginning

  • there was a lot of dynamics that kept you engrossed

  • it felt like you were being chased, like you were trying to get away but they kept getting closer. Then there's a false hope of being away, but you're trapped.

  • There's a storyline that you don't know what's happening next

  • It was mysterious and overstimulating

  • there's an effective crescendo

  • You can read it as being chased or something violent, but you can read it differently because of the sounds' friction since they don't necessarily go together, but that leaves interpretation for the listener


7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


bottom of page