top of page
  • samruff

"How To Choose A Typeface" Response

Updated: Feb 22, 2023

Personally, when it comes to typing, I am a 12 point Times New Roman person all the way, none of that 11 point Arial shit. So, I thought I would agree with most of this article, especially since I thrive on knowing the rules and laws of English, but I found myself not liking a lot of it, which I will happily bring up. The first big red flag I saw was the "Aesthetics" comparison example. It says that the left one is more suited for a children's museum and the right more for a bank, and I vehemently disagree. Perhaps my correlation is a little long-routed, but I think the left fits banks more because, in my mind, banks are pristine, white, and marbled, like Greek statues and structures. Meanwhile museums are more academic and fit a more formal typeface better.

"Avoid Anachronisms" is another section I'm not a huge fan of because I think it's going too deep where it doesn't need to. I don't think anyone is going to care that your typeface is Roman while you're writing about Greece. The only time anyone may notice or care is if you meant to do it for the irony and mention it, otherwise it just looks nice and fits to the common eye. Right after that section, I must admit, I don't appreciate the Papyrus and Comic Sans slander. Papyrus used to be my favorite font and Comic Sans can be fucking hilarious, so let's not get too quick to throw those in the bin. I like them. To add on at least one positive note, I like the quote "the opposite of neutral is neutral." I prefer things to be to an extreme with some sort of personality, so this resonates with me.

I will say though, this article is a mix of emotions. I honestly went through most of it thinking about how I will have to spend my blogpost discussing my dislike of this reading, but the end completely caught me by surprise. Usually, I like the rules of English, but stylistic choices are something I believe shouldn't be locked down, and the article still supports that. I really enjoy the idea of learning the rules so you can properly break them, and I think I may take that line of thinking further into my life and see where else that may apply for me.


9/10 article overall, I'm still mad about the Papyrus/Comic Sans slander.


2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page