top of page
  • samruff

Grid Mini-Project


These are my three designs using only blocks of CMY on a 9x9 grid. I first felt compelled to use this platform to make pixel art, so I made a mushroom guy from Mario. Next I wanted something chaotic and complex, so I layered until there were only four full squares in sight all covering a large yellow X, it's only remints being the smaller yellow X in the middle. Then I wanted to create a simple little design layering square circles until I found something simple but still interesting to look at.

(order is left to right, of course)

For the text, part of the project, I picked my favorite song, Breezeblocks by Alt-J. First, I messed with the line spacing and weight to see if I could put more emphasis on verses, but I got a little bored and added a lot of italics, bold, and bold italics. I did the last two in opposite order as shown, but it is in the shown order in the project. Next I messed around with text weight and such. I split the song in half and tried to make two drastically different halves to see if I could make them sound different in my head. I think it worked, as the second half of the song drawls and is more loud while it starts small and nervous. Lastly, I am really proud of when I put them all together. I did a project in highschool where I had to make a picture out of words and wanted to do that again, so I used all the weights and spacings to make the song fit into a cinderblock-- or breezeblock-- shape.



1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

コメント


bottom of page